Delete all logs of connectivity from users to server
Is there a way (ideally automated) to delete all logs of all apps, as well as Ubuntu logs easily?
I have a request by a user to delete there data, even connection logs from their ip’s, and everything else is functioning normally, so I’m not concerned about wiping out any existing log data
@privsec currently, logs are wiped out after 2 weeks. Is that enough for your compliance? Alternately, you have to just:
- delete old logs -
rm -f /home/yellowtent/platformdata/logs/*/*.log.* /var/log/nginx/*.log.*
- truncate current logs -
truncate -s0 /home/yellowtent/platformdata/logs/*/*.log /var/log/nginx/*.log
WARNING: PLEASE BE VERY CAREFUL RUNNING ABOVE COMMANDS. CHECK FOR SPACES AND OTHER COMMON MISTAKES THAT MIGHT DELETE ACTUAL DATA.
- delete old logs -
@girish Perfect, that 2 week timeframe is actually going to be just fine.
Does that wipe out all logs from all sources on the server every two weeks?
I can delete app backups and all that, but just want to confirm.
@privsec yes, all clients/sources are wiped out.
@girish neat, ok. Thank you!
@girish This brings up the question - can Cloudron make a function in the admin UI that can delete user data on demand?
subven last edited by
@murgero said in Delete all logs of connectivity from users to server:
that can delete user data on demand?
You mean for like GDPR (EU) or DSGVO (Germany) compliance?
@murgero and @girish this functionality would be way neat.
A simple button that culls/truncates/deletes all log data from all apps, email logs, Ubuntu logs would be fantastic.
It would be also pretty neat to also build into this app a functionality to select the apps’ backups respectively that need to be deleted (posts, comments, connection logs, etcetra) as well as cloudron a backups and then immediately create a new backup of each respective app as well as a cloudron backup
I know thats a tall order, but would make compliance superbly easy.
@subven Yeah pretty much
marcusquinn last edited by marcusquinn
The rabbit hole is when you have to delete from backups too. Some people I'm sure try to weaponise GDPR to cost you time and the most inconvenience.
(Best not even say here if you think that's the case, they might even try to claim they are identified by implying.)