I just realized when cloning an app from backup, the icon that was assigned to an app is not transferred to the new instance of it when using the
Clone From This Backupfunction. I presume this may also be the case if restoring in-place, but have not tested that task specifically.
- Add custom icon to any app, we'll refer to this app as "App #1"
- Make a backup of App #1
- View the Backup tab on App #1 and select the
Clone From This Backupbutton to clone to a new app URL
- The new app (App #2) is using the default icon rather than the custom one set in step 1 above
I assume the backups may not have been designed with this use-case in mind so it may not technically be a "defect" but I suspect this is a gap in user experience as I believe any user would expect their custom app icons to be included in the app backups and thus restored when cloning or restoring from a backup too.
Please make sure the custom app icons are included in the app backups. I spent all that time customizing my app icons, so it's a bit annoying whenever I'm cloning an app and it gets the old icon instead.
@d19dotca Makes a lot of sense, indeed, and thanks for the heads up because I do practice custom icons myself a lot, an old designer habit lol. and that can be frustrating when one has MANY personal or brand icons.
That also brings up the question to know if that would also be the case when one transfer a whole Cloudron to another provider? Because, essencially this is what's going on, when you transfer you are 'restoring' a fresh copy of your CR at another server provider.
We treat some of the app configuration as "per instance" data (for lack of a better term) and they are stored outside the app backup. They are stored as part of the box's backup. For example, things like labels, tags, icons, memory limit and so on are not saved/restored across clone or migration operations. So, I guess this is more of feature request. I will move it to that section.
@girish Thank you for clarifying Girish. Yes please, this should be added to Cloudron. I'd assume any user would expect all settings to be restored when restoring from a backup other than any data that can cause conflicts with existing instances (i.e. redirect hostnames that already exist, etc) or is just generally unnecessary (though I guess that's subjective) such as everything in the Graphs tab. I'd think everything else that won't cause conflicts should be restored using an app backup - including app icons.
@d19dotca And with what @girish mentions it could even be worse and nightmarish if one hosts MANY, like tens of clients and apps for clients who would lose tags and groups etc. A fun management to envision lol
Yeah, I guess when one makes a full backup of a PC expects to have it restored with all settings as well.
I made some changes to address this:
- I have now put the icon as part of the backup.
- Fixed the import logic to read various settings from a backup - So, when doing app -> import, tags, proxy config, label, tags etc are now imported properly across cloudron installations.
- Clone also copies the settings now. Only difference is that if there is a
label, it is copied over as
label-clone. Otherwise, it becomes hard to distinguish the original and cloned app.